29.2 C
Sunday, December 10, 2023
HomeSportsFemale Footballer of the Year winner to receive 10,000 Cedis at SWAG...

Female Footballer of the Year winner to receive 10,000 Cedis at SWAG Awards – Citi Sports Online


Related stories

The 47th edition of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards come off on Saturday, January 28 at the Accra International Conference Centre.

The renowned award scheme is set to recognize athletes in multiple sports disciplines for their outstanding performances in the year under review.

Former Ghana Former Association (GFA) President Alhaji M.N. Jawula was primed to receive the Dedication and Valor Award but passed away earlier this week.

Among the list of keenly contested award categories are the Female Footballer of the Year and Sports Journalist of the Year categories.

Ophelia Serwaa Amponsah of Ampem Darkoa Ladies, Doris Boaduwaa of Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies and Blessing Shine Agomardzi of ASFAR in Morocco are contenders for the Female Footballer Award.

The winner will receive a 100,000 Ghana Cedis ($800) cash prize same as the Sports Journalist of the Year Award winner.

Ex GFA President Alhaji M.N. Jawula

Nominees for the biggest prize on the night, the SWAG Sports Personality of the Year are sprinter Joseph Paul Amoah, Ajax and Black Stars midfielder Mohammed Kudus and Boxer Abraham Mensah.

Blessing Shine Agormadzi

Amoah became the first African to win a medal in the 200 metre race since 2006 after picking up the bronze medal in last year’s Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.


Mensah won Silver in Birmingham while Kudus starred at the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar scoring two goals and registering an assist in three games.

Source link

Latest stories